Check our homepage for new, visually rich, fast and immersive experiences!

Printable Map of Canada With Provinces and Territories, and Their Capitals

If a printable map of Canada with provinces and territories (as well as their respective capitals), is what you seek, we have for you, that and a lot more.
Vacayholics Staff
Did You Know?
On March 31, 1949, Newfoundland and Labrador became the last province to join Canada.
That Canada is the second-largest country in the world in terms of land area, is a well-known fact, but did you know that unlike the United States, which is divided into fifty states, Canada only has ten provinces and three territories to its credit. The ten provinces of Canada are Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan, while the three territories are Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon.

Canadian Provinces Vs. Territories

As far as the Canadian provinces are concerned, they get their power from the Constitution Act of 1867. With jurisdiction over public sector, like health care, education, and welfare, they can function independent of the federal government to a certain extent. The Canadian territories though, do not have this liberty. They are given certain powers by the federal government. In Canada, it is easier to create a new territory than a new province, as the latter requires an amendment.

Printable Map of Canada

Canada came into existence when three British North American territories, namely the Province of Canada (present day Ontario and Quebec), New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia came together. After several changes to both, the external and internal borders, the country looks like this today.

Canada printable map**For a printable version of the outline map of Canada, click on the image.
Canadian Provinces and Their Capitals
Ontario flag

Capital: Toronto

Joined the confederation: July 1, 1867

Total land area: 415,598 sq mi
Quebec flag

Capital: Quebec City

Joined the confederation: July 1, 1867

Total land area: 595,391 sq mi
Nova Scotia flag
Nova Scotia

Capital: Halifax

Joined the confederation: July 1, 1867

Total land area: 21,345 sq mi
New Brunswick flag
New Brunswick

Capital: Fredericton

Joined the confederation: July 1, 1867

Total land area: 28,150 sq mi
Manitoba flag

Capital: Winnipeg

Joined the confederation: July 15, 1870

Total land area: 250,116 sq mi
British Columbia flag
British Columbia

Capital: Victoria

Joined the confederation: July 20, 1871

Total land area: 364,764 sq mi
Prince Edward Island flag
Prince Edward Island

Capital: Charlottetown

Joined the confederation: July 1, 1873

Total land area: 2,185 sq mi
Saskatchewan flag

Capital: Regina

Joined the confederation: September 1, 1905

Total land area: 251,366 sq mi
Alberta flag

Capital: Edmonton

Joined the confederation: September 1, 1905

Total land area: 255,541 sq mi
Newfoundland and labrador flag
Newfoundland and Labrador

Capital: St. John's

Joined the confederation: March 31, 1949

Total land area: 156,453 sq mi

Canadian Territories and Their Capitals
Northwest Territories flag
Northwest Territories

Capital: Yellowknife

Joined the confederation: July 15, 1870

Total land area: 519,734 sq mi
Yukon flag

Capital: Whitehorse

Joined the confederation: June 13, 1898

Total land area: 186,272 sq mi
Nunavut flag

Capital: Iqaluit

Joined the confederation: April 1, 1999

Total land area: 808,185 sq mi

The province of Newfoundland and Labrador was the last province to join the Canadian Confederation. Since then, several regions, including Montreal and Northern Ontario, have witnessed movements lobbying for provincehood. Even the three Canadian territories have time and again demanded that they be upgraded to provinces. What's even more interesting, is that US states like Maine and Vermont have also witnessed movements in favor of seceding from the Union and joining Canada as a province. With all this lobbying taking place, it won't be surprising if the map of Canada changes in the near future, with more provinces and/or territories being added to the same.